we left G with a babysitter last fri to go see a movie.

This was not the first time he was staying with someone he doesnt know well (he had spent a week at camp before) but it was the first time it was in the evening hours…when the chances of him falling asleep were quite high…I was very unsure as to whether he would fall asleep or keep waiting for us.

Anyways, the evening went well, and we picked him (after he had gone to sleep). Later, I asked him if he had a good time.

As is to be expected of him, he didnt want to talk about it. The way he processes these things is very different i think, he talks about it several days or weeks after the event sometimes.

On persisting, he said I watched some curious george.

Did you go to sleep all by yourself, I asked.

But mama, I wanted you. (he says looking at me with a very sad face).

Everyday he wakes up in the morning, he asks me. Mama, what are we going to do today? Is today a holiday? And depending on what day it is, I give him the answer.

It is fairly clear though that he can now tell the difference between a regular day care day and a day he gets to spend with us, or an evening for that matter. And now, he is able to tell us so.

I wanted YOU, mama…

