What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

  • Taking things personally – I realized this year that I have the uncanny ability to make issues that other people have to be issues about me and I am finally determined to do something about it. Take a deep breath and let it go. I plan to refocus myself this year on stuff that is important to me, something I will remember all the time and hopefully doing that will make me less likely to make everything about me.
  • Anger – I want to begin on this in a small way, something specific because perhaps this is a pretty challenging goal to have, for me. A lot of anger for me, comes from taking things personally so getting rid of that will also help. Also, I will try to have a vision in my head about what sort of a role model to G I am being by indulging in that behavior. When I feel that I am getting angry, I will take a deliberate cool-off (vision G) and not talk until I am able to take 5 breaths. I will rinse and repeat 5 times, especially if I feel like I want to speak up.
  • Negativity – Especially when things are not perfect, I will accept and try again the next time and try not to chastize myself and anybody else for not getting it. I will remember G’s yoga teacher (do my best and leave the rest). I want to role model this to G since I don’t want him to be afraid of failing either. I want to treat myself well when I fail.
  • Expectations of others – I find myself often falling down the rabbit hole of pity because I wish my life was more like some other person X. I will disconnect from facebook since this sends me into the hole more often. Twitter/blogs ok because it is more of sharing of ideas/experiences.
  • Not doing something because I have been putting it off so long, that it becomes bigger and bigger and bigger. Do a small amount every day on areas in which I feel I need to make progress. Set a timer for 10 mins and just do it for that long.

 
 

Pasted from <