What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

I’ve got to start this one off with a cute story. G was with V over the weekend building some legos in his room. G suddenly tells V – Papa, I apppshiate what u are building for me! He didn’t say the word very well, but you could tell that he was using it. Some other words he has used over the last month or so have been words like interesting. Conversations with him have been quite fun. A typical conversation goes like:

Me: G, why did you do X or Y or Z

G: I don’t know mama, that’s the way it is.

I certainly appreciate having G around this year, he has taught me more about patience, about control and about living to my values. He reminds me every day that my life is a practice, I need to work at it to get better. I appreciate that I have had the good fortune to have 2 sets of GPs around to enjoy G. We had a period this year when we were by ourselves, so I do appreciate that both GPs are in good health and spirits and able to come and spend time with us. I don’t know for how long this will continue and with the relentless march of time, I am constantly aware of this and thankful for what I have.

